Why Spain and the Process to the Consulate

How Did I Decide to Teach in Spain:

The year of 2013 was a difficult year for me. My grandmother passed away on April 13th and I was in my last semester of graduate school. I wanted to throw my exit portfolio (a collection of work from graduate school) out and forget that graduate school ever existed. 2013 was a year of change and growth for me.

 On May 14th, 2013, my college days ended and I entered into the real adult world. I was not aware of the changes that would manifest during my first year out of college. It took me seven months to be hired on at grocery store as a Cashier. Finally, I found a nice part-time job as an Administration Assistant. I was unhappy with my post college life because I thought I would have an amazing full-time job with benefits and not be living at home. In my real life, I was living at home as a poor post college graduate who was suffering from a bad case of depression. One day I was reading articles online and came across an article on what to do with your life after college. I thought about the possibility of living and working aboard and the idea clicked!!!!

I discovered different programs that allowed Americans to teach and live aboard. I spent most of October-December researching different English teaching programs.  I was grateful for finishing school with a B.A. in English and a M.A. in Technical Communications and Irish Studies. I thought of all the different reasons why moving to Spain would be good for me. I made a list and here are a few of the reasons why I decided on Spain:

  •   New friends, place to call home, and life
  •   Improve my Spanish and resume (I live in Texas and there are a lot of Spanish speakers)
  •   Travel around Europe
  •   Memories and experiences
  •   Food, culture, and wine
  •   Just because it’s Europe
  •   Get experience to maybe one day join the U.S. Peace Corps.  (It’s been a life long goal)

I decided at the start of 2014 that I was going to apply to the North American Language Assistant Program and teach in Madrid, Spain, for a school year. I thought that I had nothing holding me back in the United States like children, a partner, or other obligations. I knew that this was a once in a lifetime opportunity.

The Process to Getting my Visa:
On January 8th, 2014, I submitted my application and paperwork for the program in Spain. My inscrita number was 364 and I survived an application form in Spanish. I did not hear anything from Spain for about a month. About February 3rd I received an email with a solicitud admitida status (this status basically means you have successfully turned in all your paperwork and there’s no problem). On April 24th, I received my assignment offer e-mail to teach in Madrid, Spain, and I had to accept the assignment within 5 days of the offer. I accepted my assignment and began the loooooooooooooooong wait for my school placement carta (letter). I remember waking up at 3:00 a.m. to check my e-mail to see if Spain had sent my carta. It took nearly 2 months and so many days for Spain to send that letter. During that time frame, I was worried I would never get my carta and would be stuck in Austin, Texas, working two-part time jobs and living with my father.

I received my carta on June 30th. Before, I received my carta I had gotten my state background check with an apostille, passport pictures taken, visited the doctor for my medical certificate, and application forms per-filled out. On July 17th, I drove to Houston, Texas, to submit my visa application to the Spanish Consulate. I bought my one-way ticket to Madrid the following day for the 17th of September. I now have two months remaining in the U.S.A. and there is still so much to do. I need to thin down my wardrobe, spend time with friends and loved ones, get my affairs together, and start packing. I have to remind myself to take one deep breath and handle one thing at a time. I am moving to Spain!!!!!!

Helpful blogs to read more on North American Language Assistant Program:

2 thoughts on “Why Spain and the Process to the Consulate

  1. We’re so happy that the AfterCollege Blog was one of the resources that helped you make your decision to move to Spain! Good luck with your move, and let us know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

