The Truth About Finding a PISO (Apartment/ Flat) in Madrid : The AMERICAN vs Spainard Piso Shopping

lowest-apartment-rates

Some people dream of living and moving to a foreign country. Some get to live the dream overseas; however, adjusting to a new place, language, and culture can be stressful. A person wanting to live overseas has to have all their lose ends in the country they are moving from such as bills, housing, and packing. It takes a lot of energy, time, and money to relocate overseas. Even with all the things listed above to deal with, I still made a once in a lifetime choice to move overseas. I don’t regret my choice to move to Spain!

In late September every year, many Americans and other native English speakers move to teach ESL in Madrid’s public schools. I arrived in Madrid on 9/18. I got to my hostel.  I spent 48 hours relaxing and adjusting to the time change.After the 48 hours passed, I started using websites like Idealista and Easypiso.

To find a piso in Madrid you have to call or use Whatsapp to contact possible a landlord. Next, comes the hard part, you have to ask questions in Spanish (I had to get out of comfort zone and  communicate in Spanish with possible landlords). If you like what the landlord is saying, you need to request a time to come by and look at the apartment. In America, apartment hunting is done in a different style. Spain’s approach to piso hunting requires some getting use to. You have go in person to view the place and ask more questions. If you don’t feel comfortable, ask someone to come with you. Someone will be willing to help out. Maybe offer coffee or tapas? Once you come to an agreement, you will need to sign a contract with your landlord.To research more on how to find a piso in Spain, go to the bottom of this blog for some useful links or Google piso hunting tips. 

Personal Thoughts on the Experience: My Spanish is improving  in a short period of time! Also, I have been made to step out of my comfort zone to accomplish a task. My personal development is improving. 

Questions for the Reader: Have you ever moved, worked, and lived overseas? Where? What was it like? Was it hard? What would you share with others wanting to move overseas?

Tips:

  1. Don’t go through an agency! They will charge you for using them.
  2. If you are not good at Spanish, get someone to help you with your texts. Don’t worry you will get better at Spanish in the timeframe you are looking for a piso.
  3. Don’t e-mail landlords!! Spaniards prefer that you use your phone to  call or Whatsapp them! Spaniards don’t reply to emails that fast, so use a phone to get this task done.
  4. Be safe! Use your gut on going to the appointment or not.
  5. Research areas in Madrid!

For more information check out these blogs:

Madrid Barros (Neighborhoods) 

How to Look for a Piso

3 thoughts on “The Truth About Finding a PISO (Apartment/ Flat) in Madrid : The AMERICAN vs Spainard Piso Shopping

  1. I’ve been surfing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  2. Hi there! How many days did it take you to find an apartment? I’ll be an auxiliary this coming Fall and I’m trying to figure out how long I should book a hostel for. Thanks so much!

    • I would book one week and through the weekend. Why do I say this? Hostels book up fast for the weekend, so best to over stay than be out on the streets. It took my 1 one week. It took me on week to find my place my 1st year.

Leave a Reply

