A 3 Day Trip in Lisbon Portugal

Lisbon is only one hour away via plane and 9 hours by train. There’s a metro stop at the airport and it will take you straight to the centre of town. I would recommend buying a Lisbon Card at the airport. Why? The card allows you to use the public transportation system, get a discount into exhibits, or even get into places for FREE. Note!!!! None of the monuments or museums are open on Mondays! Also, 1st Sunday of each month means free entrance into most of monuments or museums in Lisbon.

1964903_10152593891374024_6075828658644498882_n

Lisbon is a clean city with lush green grass. It’s beautiful little city. The city is known as one of the most affordable places to visit in Europe. I came to Portugal with little knowledge of the culture and history of this place. I left with an appreciation of their influence in discovery of the new world and their knowledge of sailing the seas. Also, I discovered how far back people lived in Lisbon: Bronze Age, Moors, Romans, Middle Ages, and to Current Times.

My 3 favorite places I went to in Portugal were Jeronimos MonasteryCastelo dos Mouros, and Castle of São Jorge. All three of these places are filled with history and show how long civilization has been in Portugal.  I would recommend going on a day trip to the beach or checking out castles and palaces. I enjoyed seeing the different castles and palaces in Sintra, Portugal.  I spent 3 days in Lisbon and loved my trip. I like the coastal area more than the city because it made me think of Ireland. The coastal area is green and lush. It’s cooler around the ocean. I want to go back to Portugal to see the beaches. =) 

Helpful Links:

Question for the Read have you ever been to Lisbon? What did you do? What would you suggest for someone to do in Lisbon or Portugal?

Leave a Reply

