Ciudad Encantada and Cuenca Spain: A Nice Day Trip from Madrid

I am glad I went on this day trip. I’ve been sick with the travel bug and been wanting escape Madrid. This trip was unplanned and last minute. I went through a company called BeMadrid. I only spent 25 Euros on the trip. That included entrance into the Ciudad Encantada, private tour bus, and a visit to the famous medieval city with hanging houses called Cuenca.

Ciudad Encantada was neat. Why? There was a surprise!!! Snow!!!! I was only expecting rain.  My feet got wet and cold, but it was worth the my feet suffering. The rock formations were spectator. The snow was an added bonus! The snow made the park more beautiful and enchanting. I can see why this park is called Ciudad Encantada. It was nice to get out of Madrid and see nature and snow. This park is famous because the rock formations look like different animals and the movie Conan the Barbarian was filmed in this park.

DSCN5009

DSCN5022

After wondering around in the snow and looking at different rock formations, the tour bus came to pick up the tour group. We headed to Cueca to spend the rest of the afternoon exploring this amazing medieval city. When the tour bus arrived, the tour group walked up a hill and we had to walk across the St. Paul Bridge. I had a hard time walking across this bridge. Why? The bridge was suspended high above a canyon, a narrow walking path, and the bridge moved when the wind blew. I was nervous walking across, but the houses on the cliffs distracted me from the bridge.

DSCN5068

When I was on this bridge, I got to see the famous hanging houses of Cuenca. I was amazed at how old these houses are and how the houses were built on the side of the cliffs. This bridge took the tour group into the old part of Cuenca and to the Plaza Mayor (the main centre) of this city. After the tour group got to Plaza Mayor, we all took a break and ate lunch. At lunchtime it was impossible to find a table to sit down and eat, so my group ended up getting sandwiches at a little tonic bar that was tucked away from the Plaza Mayor. Lunch ended and the tour group went on a walk of the old city part. I fell in love with the narrow cobble stone streets.The streets were like a maze. The old buildings were impressive. We walked around to different points of the city to get different views of the surroundings. We got to see a nun convent that was still operating. Plus, we learned about a sad romantic story that took place in a passage away called

The girl (she is rich) falls in love with Guy A (he is poor). Guy A went away to war to make himself a better man and move up the social class chain. Guy B comes in the picture. Guy A returns from war to prove his love to the girl, but the girl is now talking to Guy B. Guy A and Guy B sword fight and fall over the cliffs. The girl becomes a nun. El Fin! Great story to hear on Valentine’s Day!

 The walking tour ended and we were allowed free time to roam around the city. The cathedral and other museums shutdown by the time the walking tour ended. I wish we were giving free time to explore the city on our first because I wanted to see the inside of the cathedral and visit a couple museums

.DSCN5029

As my group of travel buddies walked back towards the St. Paul Bridge, we passed the Museum of Cuenca. It was free to get into the museum. I love the word free! We got to see different exhibits on Roman influences in the region and other civilizations. The history of this city fascinated me because of the different civilizations that lived in Cuenca. I learned more about the city and history of the region. After the museum closed, it was time to head back to the bus and go back home to Madrid. I was very pleased with the tour. It only cost me 25 Euros!

DSCN5066

Leave a Reply

