My 2015 Highland Adventure

During my Semana Santa holiday, I got the chance to leave the busy city of London to the tranquil Scottish Highlands for 3 days. I covered a lot in 3 days. On my tour, I went to Isle of Skye, Eliean Donan Castle, Loch Ness, and the battlefield of Culloden. I learned a lot about the different events that carved Scotland into the country it is today. There are many tour companies that leave from either Edinburgh and Glasgow. I would recommend a 3 day tour in the Highlands to have time to enjoy the beauty of your surroundings and to see some major highlights of Scottish history. I went through the Highland Experience tour company for my 3 day tour and loved every minute of my trip. Why? I had a wonderful driver who knew a lot about the history of the land. I love history. I am a bookworm and a nerd. I gained an appreciation for the history of the Highlands. The people that inhabited the land were people who knew the land and lived in clans. I wasn’t fond of the history of  the fighting that took place in Scotland. Here’s a map of the places I covered on my tour. This map is from Highland Experience’s website.

tour-map-10

As you can see, I covered a lot in 3 days. Scotland is a small island that can be covered in a shorter amount of time compared to Spain, where I live at the moment, which has taken me one year to cover half of the places I want to see. I will be in Spain for a second year, so hopefully I can see more of Spain. I am very proud that I saw a lot of Scotland in 3 days. Since I was a little girl, I have been in love with the Highlands. I knew I would enjoy a 3 day trip in the Highlands, so I booked the tour.

I am very fond of  the mountains, the lochs, and green lush grass of the Highlands. My favourite parts of my trip were Isle of Skye, Eliean Donan Castle, and Loch Ness. The tour of Skye was breath taken because of all the beauty around me such as the craggy Cuillin Mountains and outstanding beautiful Trotternish Peninsula. Skye is the largest and most northerly large island in the Inner Hebrides of Scotland. I like how you can leave the Capital of Scotland and be surrounded by only nature and not a jungle of buildings. The beauty of this island is something to see in person and not through a picture. There are many cute little villages on Skye where you can stay for the night. Stay one night and you will not regret you choice!  I would recommend Skye as an important place to go in the Highlands.

11080890_10152938257624024_7473386944324972633_n

11054854_10152938259469024_7160948372191678014_n

Not too far from the Isle of Skye is Eliean Donan Castle. This castle is one of the most iconic images of Scotland, Eilean Donan is recognised all around the world. Also, movies have been filmed at this castle too. The castle is on an island at the point where three great sea lochs meet, and surrounded by some majestic scenery. It was first inhabited around the 6th century. The first fortified castle was built in the mid 13th century. Since then, at least four different versions of the castle have been built and re-built. The castle was destroyed in a Jacobite uprising in 1719.  Eilean Donan laid in ruins for 200 years until Lieutenant Colonel John MacRae-Gilstrap bought the island in 1911 and proceeded to restore the castle.

 11128655_10152938252729024_4006756939071822997_n

Eilean Donan is a small castle compared to other castles I have visited. What makes Eileen Donan unique to me is the scenery surrounding the castle and the loch. The scenery goes very well with the castle. The castle is still used by the current owner. The family holds a reunion at the castle once a year to celebrity the history of the castle. I wish I could own a castle in the Highlands.

10421137_10152938264924024_8699910399047476390_n

Last place on my list of favourite places in the Highlands is the world famous Loch Ness. It is a large, deep, freshwater loch in the Scottish Highlands extending for approximately 23 miles (37 km) southwest of Inverness. Loch Ness is best known for alleged sightings of the Loch Ness Monster. The loch contains more fresh water than all the lakes in England and Wales combined.  I wasn’t to fond of the idea of paying a lot of money to jump of a boat to “monster hunt”  for an hour.  I think this idea is a little silly and childish. I personal enjoyed sitting on a bench or walking around the shore  looking out to the water and enjoying nature.

11083605_10152938251494024_7901792839940436641_n

I plan to return to Scotland in a few years to revisit the Highlands. If you love Ireland, you will easily fall in love with Scotland.  I fell in love with the Scottish Highlands. There’s something about the beauty of the land that draws me in and has captivated me. The majestic scenery is what I love the most. So if you like scenery, mountains, and nature you should book a flight and visit Scotland.

Leave a Reply

