Renewing My Visa for Year 2 in Spain: The Nightmares of Getting a Spanish Background Check Stateside

This past school year I left Madrid, Spain, to go home and work at a Girl Scout summer camp. I didn’t have a lot of time to renew my TIE in Spain because the Ministry of Eduction was moving slow with sending out cartas, so decided to renew my visa. I went to home to start the process of getting a new visa. I failed to get a Spanish background check from the Ministry of Justice.

I had my visa appointment in Houston on the 17th of July and lacked one major document! YAY! Grand times! I spent two of my Fridays off from camp running around Austin, Texas, getting documents ready for sending into the Ministry of Justice. I had a lot of anxiety build up in me  because I didn’t have a lot of free time to get the background check request paperwork together. All I care is that I got the paperwork in the mail at the start of August. I am expecting my background check by late August.  In this blog post, I am going to focus on how to get your paperwork together for requesting a Spanish. I hope this helps someone.

The Spanish Consulate in Houston, Texas, requires people who are renewing their visa to get a Spanish background check to submit with their visa paperwork. Requesting a Spanish background check from the States seems like mission impossible, but it’s very possible to get the documents and wire transfer done in States. Before you start getting your paperwork together, please read this information on sending a request by post on the Ministry of Justice’s website on requesting by post and the page on basic information on the criminal record certificate. Very helpful sites.

Things You Will Need:

  • Administration part of the Form 790
  • Dual Notary for your color copy of the front page of your passport
  • Copy of wire transfer with notary

Form 790 

You can find a copy of the Form 790 on the top right hand side of the link I shared with you above. Print out a copy of the Form 790 use only the Administration part. 3 sheets will print out. Make sure you get the right sheet.  For more detailed instructions on how to fill out the Form 790 please check out these links:

Wire Transfer

Once you finish filling out the Form 790, you can go to your bank to do a wire transfer. I had to spend nearly an hour at Charles Schwab trying to do a wire transfer for $4.37 USD and a $25.00 USD fee. Fun times. Then, the bank failed to produce me proof of the wire transfer. I had to call customer care for proof of the transfer. Here’s the information you need for doing the wire transfer:

BANK: BBVA

ACCOUNT HOLDER: Ministerio de Justicia – Cuenta Restringida Recaudación Tasas Extranjero (Ministry of Justice – Foreign Fee Collection Blocked Account)

NIF (TAX IDENTITY NUMBER) OF THE ACCOUNT HOLDER: S-2813610-I

IBAN or International Bank Account Number: IBAN ES62 0182 2370 4202 0800 0060

Bank Identification Code (BIC) of the BBVA: BBVAESMMXXX

Address Ministerio de Justicia. Calle Bolsa, 8. 28012, Madrid, Spain 

1st Page of Passport and Dual Notary 

Once you complete your wire transfer, make sure to get proof the the transfer and have the bank or the UPS Store notarise the paper.  Last thing you need to do before you place this paperwork in the mail is get a color copy of the 1st page of your passport and a dual notary (apostille and a regular notary). You can get the first notary from your local bank or the UPS Store and the 2nd notary, the apostille, from your state’s Secretary of State Office. After this final step is completed, you can visit you local post office and send your completed paperwork off to Spain.

It cost me around $50.00 USD to send my paperwork 3-5 day express international shipping. Use this address for the destination: Oficina Central de Atención al Ciudadano. Ministerio de Justicia. Calle Bolsa, 8. 28012, Madrid. I sent my paperwork off on the 3rd of August and my paperwork reached the Ministry of Justice’s main office on the 10th of August. Now I am waiting for my background check to return to me!

FAST TIPS:

  • Double check the current amount for the taxes for the wire transfer
  • Make sure you fill out boxes 20 and 21 on the Form 790  to have the background check apostille
  • Sign and date the Form 790
  • Get a color copy of the front page of your passport and get 2 notaries!!!
  • Double check that you did everything correct, so you don’t waste money and time trying to get this document
One thought on “Renewing My Visa for Year 2 in Spain: The Nightmares of Getting a Spanish Background Check Stateside

Leave a Reply

