Visiting Paris During the Terrorist Act

 

On Friday the 13th of November, Paris was attacked by a group of terrorists in the 10th and 11th districts. Before the attacks happened, I was finishing dinner with my tour group. I was 10 minutes walking distance from the restaurants, cafes, and bars where the shootings and bombings took place. I am still in shock about how close I was to the events. This event was a wake up call for me about life and death. This was the first time in my life that I had experienced a close call with death. I could have been caught on the street walking back to my accommodations and shot dead. Thankfully, I took the underground back to my hotel. At the moment, I am still coming to terms with the possible fact that I could have been killed in Paris. This fact still sends chills down my spine. I am thankful I wasn’t killed, but it is still tragic that there were victims from this awful crime against humanity.

I pray ISIS is destroyed, but I do realize another group will come into power. I wish bombings and shooting were not in this world. It’s awful to do such acts against your fellow man. Even though there’s negativity in the world like ISIS, there is still beauty and good in this world. It was amazing to hear and see how citizens of Paris were allowing strangers into their houses and cab drivers were offering free rides home to people. It’s amazing to see the world support France during her time of need. I am sad how this event was highlighted and how other events like this have not been brought to the attention of the world. Events like this are happening in many places around the world that the media chooses not to cover. The world needs to join forces to wipe out this evil and make the world a better place for all of mankind.

I know this event has made some Americans nervous about traveling to France, Europe, and anywhere else. This kind of event could take place in my hometown of Austin, Texas, or anywhere else in the world. This event has not changed my views on traveling and living overseas. Life and bad things happen, but we have to keep on living. I am not trying to sound cold when I say this, but I am trying to make the statement that life moves on and we mustn’t be stuck in the past. Life is meant for living in the present and not in the past. I will continue to work and live in Madrid, Spain, and travel throughout Europe because this is my dream. Nobody is going to keep me from achieving my dreams.

I pray for a better tomorrow where there are no acts of terrorism.

Leave a Reply

