Germany Christmas Markets in Bavaria 

I got a second chance to go to Munich. I will never understand why I am so fond of German Christmas Markets. Maybe it is the cooler weather? Maybe the hot wine and food? Maybe the Christmas decorations found in the centre and markets? I do not know why? Maybe the German Christmas markets, I went to as a kid, back in Texas inspired me to visit real German markets?   

I  had a wonderful time exploring different markets in Munich and Nuremberg. The Christmas ornaments found in these markets are just stunning and beautiful.Most ornaments are hand crafted! Original pieces of work can go for a reasonable price. I see the ornaments a fine art. The colours, the design, and creativity into making an ornament. German Christmas ornaments are one of my favorite things to put on a Christmas tree. 
On top of the ornaments, I love the food and the drinks you find in these markets. Traditional foods found in these markets: glühwein (a hot wine), beer, sausage, German sweets, gingerbread, and much more. I want to focus on my favorite item called glühwein. It is a popular drink found at German Markets. Many markets have a special decorated cup. You pay a deposit for the cup. You can keep the cup as a souvenir or return the cup and get your deposit back. 
What is glühwein? This drink is usually prepared from red wine, heated and spiced with cinnamon sticks, cloves, star aniseed, citrus, sugar and at times vanilla pods. It is one of my favorite things to have while exploring German Christmas Markets. 
I love being in the centre of a German Christmas Market because there is so much going on at one time. From people buying items in stalls to hearing music or food cooking on a grill. I find these markets be very enjoyable. I look forward to seeing a German Christmas Market next year. Maybe in the Northern German? 

Leave a Reply

